Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas everyone!

IMG_20141204_210925Christmas isn’t quite as big here as in the U.S, so between the lack of Christmas-y things and cold weather it is hard to believe it is actually December. We did manage to find a little Christmas-ish tree and decorate it. It was exciting at the time, but I think the girls have essentially forgotten about the tree now ;)It has also been getting colder in the mornings this last week, so it is finally starting to feel like the cold season.

Over the last couple of weeks we’ve had a couple of “adventures”. Our truck was having problems starting, so we took it in to get fixed. Since I’m the one that drives it, I got to be the one stuck outside the school trying to start it while being stared at. Sometimes I feel like a zoo animal. I do have to say, though, that it was a pretty neat experience using our local Nissan dealership. They treated us like royalty and even gave us rides when our truck was in the shop (never got that in CA). We also had to make a couple of trips to the hospital due to a bad tooth ache. We don’t have a proper dental facility near us, so our girl with the tooth ache has not actually finished her dental work.

This week we are taking our girls on a 10 hour  road trip. All of the Thailand homes are gathering in CM to celebrate Christmas together. We are all, of course, very excited about the trip. I’m especially looking forward to helping the four youngest (under 11) cope with the drive 😉

IMG_20141116_073653Remember Nhu leadership is very graciously allowing me to go home and spend Christmas with my parents and little brother, something I am very thankful for. This will be my first Christmas in Thailand in 10 years, and it is very special to be able to spend it with my family (including my Hmong family).

Our high school girls go to a school camp this week and we have to pick them up from camp early because of our trip to CM. The camp is in a city a little over an hour away, and neither Pam and I are very familiar with the road. Also, I have yet to drive in a big city here in Thailand, so hopefully we don’t get lost and make the trip safely.

While saying goodbye to the neighbor’s baby this morning, the 6 year old yelled out in English  “I love you teacher!”  This, folks, is my life and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

IMG_20141121_210131

IMG_20141108_051342

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Merry Christmas!

  1. danlagasse says:

    So glad you can spend time with family during Christmas. I hope it is restful and fills your heart. DeAnna

Leave a comment